Yummy Sticky Ribs

A few days ago, J and I were reading a Roald Dahl book when we found a recipe for sticky ribs and decided that we very much must try it out. So yesterday, that’s what we did and it was so delicious I thought I would share it with you. We found this recipe in the Roald Dahl Treasury but I believe it is originally from Revolting Recipes. Revolting, however, it most certainly isn’t.

For a family of four you will need about 700g pork ribs. Lay them in a roasting tin.

Firstly (and this is the fun bit), mix together 1tbsp each of Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, mustard, honey and tomato ketchup. Then, finely chop half an onion and add that in too. Now, spread this lovely mixture all over the ribs. After this, I left them in the fridge for an hour before cooking, although the recipe didn’t specify this.

Then, bake them in a 220c oven for about an hour and a half, turning and basting 3 times during cooking. I made up another lot of the marinade without the onion and spread it on gradually during the cooking time for more flavour. The ribs will get very sticky and start looking quite burnt, but don’t worry, this is how they are supposed to be, lovely crunchy stickiness, yum! After cooking this is what you will have:

Serve on a plate in the middle of the table with a bowl of sweetcorn (or corn cobs, mmm!) and a tray of potato wedges.I do love those middle of the table help yourself meals.

I love, love, love trying out new recipes, cooking something else than a meal I’ve made many times before, not knowing what its going to taste like until there it is on my plate. It was such fun making this too, and it was enjoyed by everyone. I think I can call that a complete success!

This entry was posted in Books, Craft & Cook, Day to Day Life, Food, Home Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

