Anything Goes

I have been once again struck down with tonsilitis. Caught in time this time because I knew immediately what it was, but still painful and energy-sapping all the same. On the second day, my boy also woke up with a “funny tummy” and proceded to throw up a good few times. Despite it being the summer holidays and having had a lot planned, we took it very easy for a few days. Nothing planned, very relaxed. Moment by moment. Anything goes.


He:

Looked after me as best he could, with lots of kisses and a great deal of concern when telling the doctor exactly what was wrong with me and how ill I was feeling.

Drew one of the best pictures he has ever produced. Of M (my man) stroking the cat. And wrote his name beautifully at the bottom.

Inspected the window cleaner’s work and informed him which windows belonged to which rooms. The window cleaner did not look impressed, but I laughed a lot.

Told me all about his musical discoveries: “I like it when Lady Gaga sings “ma-ma-ma-ma-marmalade”, “I want to hear that band on my Ben 10 headphones – The Bugs. No, The Beatles!”, “My brain is singing twinkle twinkle little star to me!”

Rode his bike up and down the street in front of the house for the first time. I couldn’t keep my eyes off him. I have a whole lot of letting go to do soon.

I:

Felt a weight lifted from my shoulders on the discovery that I passed my exam! How, I do not know but I feel blessed.

Sat and rested my aching, run-down body in the middle of a football field and watched my boy run, and run, and run.

After a whole lot of planning and dreaming, have bought the first few items to decorate my hobby room. Yes, I will have a room to myself, a sanctuary! I have a while to wait, the rest of the house needs to be finished first. But I continue to dream.

Have enjoyed cooking some lovely meals, even if I haven’t been enjoying eating them. I do love to cook, so very relaxing.

We:

Shared ice cream. The best cure for any sickness, not just tonsilitis. In fact, the best cure for just about anything.

Rested together in bed with movies. Lovely moments making up for how dreadful we both were feeling.

Spent a whole lot of time in the garden. Cutting back trees, digging over soil, finding bugs, hitting things with sticks, that sort of thing.

Dug up the potato crop. Plenty for us and some for the neighbours too. I have looked forward to this, its so very exciting for him.

Had a picnic in the garden. One of the chickens joined in.

This entry was posted in About J, About Me, Day to Day Life, Garden, Home Life, Young Mum. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Anything Goes

  1. Aww sorry you both haven’t been feeling well, it sounds like you have had a nice relaxing time though. His drawing is v impressive πŸ˜‰ x

  2. Oooh congrats on passing ur exam as well πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

