I’ll Look After You

Ive been feeling a cold creeping up on me for days, and yesterday it hit me full force. Its no fun being a mum when you’re feeling weak and achy and cant eat much due to a particularly vicious sore throat. I felt guilty for what must have been a very boring evening for J because I wasn’t really up to playing with him much.

I fell straight into bed after he did, but at 9pm, I heard the soft tread of little footsteps in the hallway, then warm little hands wrapping themselves around my neck. “I came into your bed to help you feel better.” “Im looking after you so you can sleep.” It was nice to lie there with his little arms wrapped (a little too) tightly around me, and later on feel the pat, pat, pat of his hand on my hair. I waited until he had drifted off to sleep, felt his arms loosen their grip on my throat, and listened to his little snores for a while before carrying him back to his own bed. Its nice to be the one being looked after for a change.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ll Look After You

  1. That is possibly the most adorable thing I have ever heard! It actually made me teary. You have a wonderful, thoughtful little boy. You must be very proud.

  2. I’m blinking quickly .. sh!
    I only flitted into the Gallery list at Sticky Fingers for a couple of seconds today as I haven’t posted in so long I thought it was time. I picked your entry at random as I love reading new people and am so glad I did 🙂 I’ll definitely be back. We have a couple of things in common and you really touch me with your writing.

    Take care Girl.

    MJM.

Leave a Reply

