My Little Shining Star

He took part in his first nativity play. The reception class put on a wonderful show and the preschool children played the part of stars in the sky. The night before, he had little sleep, he wanted to “stay up aallllll night!” and nothing I did could get him to bed before 9pm. This then meant that we were late for school in the morning and he didnt much feel like being a star.

At 9.30, I took my place with the other parents in the school hall, eagerly awaiting my son’s performance. At first, I couldnt see him and thought he had decided to stay behind in the classroom, but then I spotted him, looking exactly like all the others in his dark clothes and star hat. He enjoyed watching the bigger children perform but I could tell he was tired and he eventually ended up sitting on his teacher’s knee while he waited for his time, joining in with the actions to all of the songs, but not singing.

And then he got up there with the rest of his class to sing Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. I could tell his heart wasnt in it, but he spotted me and I did the actions with him and he joined in. And then he tried singing, but instead let out a massive yawn. One of those yawns which makes them look like they’re still a baby. So he stopped trying to sing and just moved his hands. And I was proud, because he had tried so hard.

He did enjoy it because later when we got home, he wanted to wear his star again, but told me that the best part of the day was the special christmas biscuits he ate at snack time.

This post was used for this week’s Gallery theme: Sparkle, though apologies for the bad quality photographs. He took my camera away to put it somewhere safe and now neither of us can find it.

This entry was posted in Celebrations, Seasons, The Gallery. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Little Shining Star

  1. Hayley says:

    Oh bless him! It was my sons first play yesterday! Was so sweet! You might be interested in my post about it =]

  2. Emma says:

    Awww so cute!! Bet your one proud mama!! Funnily enough most of the things you this house has been put somewhere sfae including our camera and now it cannot be found anywhere!!

  3. SeaThreePeeO says:

    Bless him. My youngest, who is four, had her school christmas concert and she didn’t want to sing either.

  4. oh bless! I can’t wait for school plays. I will be a sobbing mess at the back 🙂

  5. TheMadHouse says:

    I adore the school plays, they get better and better and I love them with all my heart and yes I cry

Leave a Reply

