And So, I Sew (Day Zero) And A Giveaway!

One of the tasks on my day zero list I was most excited about was getting a sewing machine. During my childhood, my mum made several things for all of us on her’s and when my sister received a machine for her birthday, I decided that I would like one too. I then decided on some jewellery instead as I thought I would use it more than a sewing machine. How wrong I was. My sister’s sewing machine is now living with me whilst she is home and I cant stay away from it. I’ve used the jewellery twice in a year.

My mum taught me so many things including how to cook and bake, garden, crochet, handsew, cross stitch, model with dough and to be crafty and creative. She never taught me how to use a sewing machine, but I remember watching her use her’s and knowing that I would do the same when I was older. It’s fantastic to find a new hobby which I enjoy so much, which doesnt cost the earth and that I am actually quite good at (if I do say so myself).

I did get off to a slow start, mainly due to my first project (a cushion cover made from a pair of denim shorts) going quite wrong and putting me off. But since finding much inspiration from various sources and finishing another project which I was very proud of, all I want to do is sew, sew, sew. Ive caught the bug, and I have so many ideas for new projects that I know Im never going to finish them all.

So far, I have made:

This crayon roll for J: This was the second project which went very well. Im very proud of the finish and the general look of it, considering it was only the second thing I made. Inspiration found here.

These blackout curtains to help him sleep better. When we moved into this house, I was a little shocked at the size of the window in his room. Children’s curtains are impossible to find so big and he was using some red ones from my bedroom. The blue camouflage fabric was originally bought to make a wigwam, but I thought proper curtains were needed more. The blackout lining is so great for gettimg him to sleep on summer nights.

And a pair of very cute reversible denim pants, made from a pattern bought from etsy.com, here. So much easier to make than I expected, and should last him a while due to the size of the turnups. I just love these and am going to make plenty more.

I am now beginning on christmas presents for some little people, this one was finished a few days ago:

I also have a couple of other projects which are works in progress, including more cushion covers, cosy furry ones for my bed, and a heart garland, inspiration here.

I am still very much a beginner, and sometimes my impatience gets the better of me. There have been many, many mistakes, including sewing things inside out, not sewing in a straight line (!) and taking time to learn to sew around corners. There may have been various swearwords uttered. I may also have learned to use a seam ripper much, much better than the actual sewing machine. The quality of my projects is not always great, but this is something I am going to be doing for years, and I’m sure it will improve in time. My son likes to sit and watch me and although progress is slower, I do love those times. He often brings his playdoh to the table and we sit together, sewing and moulding, both creating much mess and chaos.

Future projects include a wigwam tent for J and this duffle coat in blue (though I doubt this one will be finished before he grows up too much)

And now for a little something for you! My latest project, and surprisingly the most difficult but smallest one yet, is up for grabs. Here is a sneak peek of it:

Yes, its my first giveaway here, all you have to do is leave a comment on this post and one of you will be chosen at random to be gifted with this little something for your home, hand made by me. Come back to see who the winner is a week today.

This entry was posted in Craft & Cook, Day Zero, Our Home. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And So, I Sew (Day Zero) And A Giveaway!

  1. cheryl says:

    Oooh exciting ! You have a lovely blog, I’ll have a good look through now . Thanks for the giveaway. 🙂

  2. Your blog is lovely and you are so clever! I can’t even sew on a button properly! I often wish I was creative enough to make things…I once knitted a toy sheep for my son but it ended up looking like a donkey 😦 Good luck with all your projects!

  3. Louise strachan says:

    You put me to shame as I haven’t sewn anything since I made curtains when I was pregnant (she is now 11 and have had 2 others since then!) Must do better…
    Have retweeted as @Bobbity666 and subscribed – thanks x

  4. I would so love to sew and use what I think is a creative spirit somewhat knocked out of me in school although not completely. I have a sewing machine (my late mum’s) and so far have only got as far as gazing at it.
    Please enter me into your comp and I am now subsribed to your blog

Leave a Reply

