A Memory of a More Co-operative Child

I very rarely take J to get his hair cut, resulting in an often very messy and unruly crop of hair on my little boy. What a bad and lazy mother I am! I object. Here is a photograph of J having his second ever haircut. He sat there beautifully, he even giggled a little, he waved to me in the mirror, and babbled away to the barber girl. He was 18 months old, and it seems a lifetime away now.

Since then, the older he has got, the less co-operative he has become, resulting in his last haircut probably looking to a passer-by like a torture scene. I sat in the chair and held him down, which was very difficult as I had to use just my arms to hold down both his flailing arms and kicking legs, whilst also holding his head in the right position. Hair flew everywhere and eventually got mixed with sweat, snot and tears to form a very sticky mess on both of us. The screaming was so bad that we scared away customers. It only lasted 20 minutes, but it felt like an hour. He sobbed all the way home, and I felt awful. You can see why taking J to have his hair cut is something I fear. I will his hair to grow as slow as possible.

So, I look back on the time that this photograph was taken with a great longing. I would love to take a happy boy to get his hair cut, and watch as he sits and chats, and comes away a more handsome and groomed little boy, sucking on a lollipop. ‘Tis not to be. A few days ago, I took a pair of small scissors while he was in the depths of sleep and cut off the hair around his ears, along his fringe and across the back of his neck. It will buy me another month before we inevitably have to go back to that dreaded Barber Shop.

This post is in response to The Gallery Week 23 prompt: A Memory.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Memory of a More Co-operative Child

  1. Wow! I hope he grows out of it soon! Good Luck!

  2. Harriet says:

    Haircuts are funny aren’t they? I was dreading taking L – because I was expecting a riot, and she’s been fine every time…. so now I’m expecting the other two to be fine too – which of course means they won’t be!

    • For some reason, no-one else I know has quite the same problem, it seems so unfair. Thankyou so much for my secret post gift by the way, I absolutely love it! Will be posting about it shortly x

  3. oh no, don’t tell me that! Big M is going for her 2nd ever haircut on friday (the first was a BIG success). Now I’m worried… 🙂

  4. Oh you poor thing, have to say I am really lucky as my mums goddaughter does all our hair in our own house so Baba is fine with it and he loves her any way so it makes it easier. Hope it gets better soon xx

  5. b4kersgirl says:

    Oh dear! My daughter is 14 months so I’ve not had to take her for a haircut yet, long may it stay that way!

  6. Kate says:

    My 2 are fine with haircuts. This might have something to do with the fact that the lady who cuts their hair keeps a jar of lollies behind the counter!! Shame he is so difficult for you, hope the phase passes soon. It will.

Leave a Reply

